Annual Shareholders' Meeting 2010

Novozymes A/S yesterday held its Annual Shareholders' Meeting, at which the following were approved:

  • Adoption of the audited Novozymes Report 2009

  • Distribution of profit in accordance with The Novozymes Report 2009, with payment of a dividend of DKK 5.75 per share of DKK 10, an increase of 10% compared to fiscal year 2008

  • Adoption of the Board of Directors’ proposals for revision of the Articles of Association, including:

    • Alteration of Novozymes’ object in the Articles of Association to support Novozymes’ commitment to strive to operate in a sustainable and responsible manner

    • Reduction of the authorization to the Board of Directors to increase the share capital, from a total of DKK 220 million to a total of DKK 170 million

    • Approval for all communication with shareholders to be effected solely by electronic means

    • New procedure whereby the Board of Directors’ Chairman and Vice Chairman are elected directly at the Annual Shareholders’ Meeting by vote

    • Authorization for the Board of Directors to decide extraordinary dividend payments

  • Election of the current Board of Directors’ Chairman and Vice Chairman according to the new procedure in the Articles of Association

  • Re-election of the other four current members of the Board of Directors elected by the Annual Shareholders’ Meeting

  • Re-election of PricewaterhouseCoopers as the company’s auditor

Following the Annual Shareholders’ Meeting, the Board of Directors consists of the following members:

Henrik Gürtler, CEO of Novo A/S (Chairman)
Kurt Anker Nielsen, Senior Vice President (Deputy Vice Chairman) (Chairman of the Audit Committee)Paul Petter Aas, Senior Vice President of Yara International ASA (Norway)
Jerker Hartwall, CEO of AarhusKarlshamn AB (Sweden) (member of the Audit Committee)
Søren Henrik Jepsen, Manager (employee representative)
Ulla Morin, Laboratory Technician (employee representative)
Michael Munksø, Production Operator (employee representative)
Walther Thygesen, CEO of Thrane & Thrane A/S (member of the Audit Committee)
Mathias Uhlén, Professor, Kungliga Tekniska Högskolan (Sweden)

For further information on members of the Board of Directors, go to