在一家市政处理厂使用 BioSpikes® 4000 进行疏浚,通过有效减少污泥,提高了工厂的污水塘能力,并推迟了成本高达 600,000 美元的项目。
  
益处 

  • 在已处理区域,污泥减少量改善 28%
  • ​在已处理区域,污水塘处理能力从 9% 增加到 35%
  • 推迟了成本高达​ 600,000 美元的疏浚项目,且不对出水水质产生相关负面影响 

背景
市政当局担心,多年来,污泥减量不足,这可能会引发问题,从而导致废水处理污水塘内污泥沉积。该占地 2.5 公顷(6 英亩)的污水塘深 3.4 米(11 英尺),整个污水塘的污泥量达到 2.4 至 3.0 米(8 至 10 英尺),严重限制了处理能力。市政当局与 Novozymes Biologicals 合作评估 BioSpikes® 4000,为报价 600,000 美元的疏浚项目寻找替代办法。
  
应用
前端的两个漂浮搅拌器为污水塘充气。在有大量污泥沉积且缺少污泥减量的污水塘区域添加了 BioSpikes®。连续 6 个月,每个月执行污泥测量,并与未处理对照区域进行比较。
  
结果 
60 天后,已处理区域的污泥量减少 28% – 0.87 米(2.8 英尺),而未处理区域的污泥量增加 19% – 0.47 米(1.5 英尺)。污泥量的减少使得处理能力从试验前的 9% 增加到试验后的 35% – 增幅达 289%。
  
结论 
在市政污水塘系统中添加 BioSpikes® 4000 成功推迟了疏浚,并通过改善污泥减量,提高了处理能力。市政当局计划扩大应用规模,并对更大区域进行处理。
  
  
图 1. 60 天内,通过应用 Novozymes BioSpikes,处理区域的污泥减量增加 28%。

Dredging with BioSpikes® 4000 at a municipality treatment plant increased the plant’s lagoon capacity through effective sludge reduction and postponed a $600,000 project. 
  
Benefits 

  • A 28% improvement in sludge reduction levels in the treated area
  • An increase in lagoon treatment capacity from 9% to 35% in the treated area
  • Defers a $600,000 dredging project without associated negative impacts on effluent quality 

Background 
A municipality was concerned about potential problems from years of poor sludge reduction, resulting in sludge buildup in its wastewater treatment lagoon. The 2.5 hectare (6-acre) lagoon is 3.4 m (11 ft.) deep, and sludge levels ranged from 2.4 to 3.0 m (8 to 10 ft.) throughout the lagoon, severely limiting treatment capacity. Looking for alternatives to a $600,000 dredging quote, the municipality teamed up with Novozymes Biologicals to evaluate BioSpikes® 4000. 
  
Application 
The lagoon is aerated by two floating mixers in the front end. BioSpikes® were added to an area of the lagoon with significant sludge buildup, and lacking sludge reduction. Sludge measurements were performed monthly for 6 months and compared to the untreated control area. 
  
Results 
After 60 days the sludge levels were reduced in the treated area by 28% – 0.87 m (2.8 ft.), while the sludge levels in the untreated areas increased by 19% – 0.47 m (1.5 ft.). The drop in sludge levels led to an improvement in operating capacity from 9% before the trial to 35% after the trial – a 289% increase. 
  
Conclusion 
The addition of BioSpikes® 4000 to the municipal lagoon system successfully deferred dredging and increased treatment capacity by improving sludge reduction. The municipality is planning to scale up the application and treat a much larger area. 
  
  
Fig. 1. The application of Novozymes BioSpikes resulted in a 28% improvement in sludge reduction in the treatment area over 60 days.