作为一家负责任的公司和工业酶市场领导者,Novozymes 确保我们的所有产品可以合法地销售到全球所有相关市场,并以合法的方式使用。

Novozymes 认真对待其责任,因此建立了一个受过良好训练的大型全球职能部门,监控相关立法并提交最先进的档案。法规事务职能部门的成员分布在丹麦、法国、加拿大、美国、日本、韩国、马来西亚、印度、中国和巴西,并与本地行业协会和监管机构合作,以创建透明的酶法律体系。

 

REACH

Novozymes 完全遵守关于化学品注册、评估、许可和限制的欧盟法规。


关于化学品注册、评估、许可和限制的法规 (REACH) 由欧盟发布。REACH 规定,对于所有位于欧盟的化学品制造商和进口商,如果制造或进口的化学品年吨数超过特定水平(1000、100、10 和 1 吨/年),必须进行注册。发布 REACH 的动机是改善对人类健康和环境的保护,避免化学品的潜在风险。

我们的方法

Novozymes 对 REACH 表示欢迎。在本质上,REACH 体现了 Novozymes 的业务战略和雄心,以使用可持续的酶或生物解决方案替代高度危险的化学品,同时确保使用安全。

根据全新欧盟立法,REACH(化学品的注册、评估、许可和限制),对于所有位于欧盟的化学品制造商和进口商,如果制造或进口的化学品年吨数超过特定水平,必须进行注册。

Novozymes 的技术酶(用于洗涤剂、皮革、特殊技术、林业、纺织、燃料乙醇等)被视为化学品,因此需要完成 REACH 注册。发布 REACH 的动机是改善对人类健康和环境的保护,避免化学品带来的风险。

朝可持续工业发展迈出的备受欢迎的一步

作为朝可持续工业发展迈出的一步,Novozymes 对 REACH 表示欢迎。在本质上,该法规体现了公司的业务战略,以使用可持续的酶或生物解决方案替代高度危险的化学品,同时确保使用安全。

REACH 生效后,Novozymes 实施 REACH 的所有要求,以确保为客户不间断供应产品。Novozymes 确保丹麦 Novozymes A/S 在欧盟制造或进口到欧盟/欧洲经济区 (EEA) 的产品符合 REACH(如果您将 Novozymes 的产品进口到 EU/EEA,请通知您的 Novozymes 代表)。

作为领先的注册公司,Novozymes 已成功注册大量酶(2010 年 > 1000 吨/年,2013 年 > 100 吨/年),并且未超过 REACH 截止期限。Novozymes 将在 2018 年截止期限之前注册其他吨数较轻的酶。

 

针对以下领域,Novozymes 产品须注册(参见下方)

作为酶的制造商和进口商,Novozymes 已经注册了高吨数的酶,并将根据 2018 年的 REACH 注册时间线注册其他酶。

Novozymes 用于生产生物乙醇的解决方案包含酶,我们会确保这些酶及时进行 REACH 注册。 在我们的供应链中,我们会注意满足所有的 REACH 要求。

Novozymes 在生物乙醇工厂使用 Novozymes 产品进行实际测量,并在此基础上开发了生物能源行业特有酶的暴露场景。 暴露场景可用于注册 REACH 的 Novozymes 产品,并且可以从 Novozymes 的客户中心下载。 Novozymes 还提供安全指导,可以在 Novozymes 客户中心的资料库部分中找到。

作为酶的制造商和进口商,Novozymes 已经注册了家用护理产品中最常用的酶。 Novozymes 将根据 REACH 注册时间线注册其他酶。

Novozymes 将确保我们为家用护理产品行业提供的酶及时进行 REACH 注册,并且在我们的供应链中,我们会注意满足所有的 REACH 要求。 

根据国际肥皂、洗涤剂和维护产品协会 (A.I.S.E.) 对用途及“习惯和做法”的描述,Novozymes 已经开发了暴露场景。 暴露场景可用于注册 REACH 的 Novozymes 产品,并且可以从 Novozymes 的客户中心下载。 Novozymes 还提供安全指导,可以在 Novozymes 客户中心的资料库部分中找到。  

喷雾或硬表面清洁产品或医疗器械清洁 当酶用于喷雾产品或硬表面清洁或医疗器械清洁时,酶的暴露可能会超过安全水平。 A.I.S.E. 发布了关于“喷雾产品风险评估中酶的暴露测量”的文件,描述了如何评估喷雾产品的暴露。 Novozymes 为医疗器械清洁提供安全指导。 如果您打算开发此类产品,请通知您的 Novozymes 代表以获取更多帮助。 

食品饮料产品须遵守 FIAP,有时也要求进行 REACH 注册。 Novozymes 已经注册了高吨数的酶,并将根据 2018 年的 REACH 注册时间线注册其他酶。

Novozymes 的一些解决方案用于化工产品和食品饮料产品的制造。 例如,一种蛋白质水解物可用于化妆品(该化妆品成分须遵守 REACH 法规)和食品制造行业。 在这种情况下,酶可能满足双重合规要求:REACH 和 FIAP。

作为 REACH 合规的一部分,Novozymes 针对相关行业中使用的酶开发了暴露场景。 这些暴露场景都可以在 Novozymes 的客户中心获得。 Novozymes 还提供安全指导,可以在 Novozymes 客户中心的资料库中找到。

作为酶的制造商和进口商,Novozymes 已经注册了高吨数的酶,并将根据 2018 年的 REACH 注册时间线注册其他酶。

*根据 REACH 法规,纺织品、皮革和纸浆被定义为“物品”,这可能给制造商施加额外的义务。
 
Novozymes 开发了各种解决方案来改善一系列工业过程,包括纺织品、皮革和纸浆生产过程。 此外,我们会确保我们为此目的而开发的酶及时进行 REACH 注册。 在我们的供应链中,我们会注意满足所有的 REACH 要求。
根据 REACH 法规,纺织品、皮革和纸浆被定义为“物品”。 如果物品含有超过 0.1% 的高度关注物质 (SVHC),则在 EU/EEA 生产的产品或进口到 EU/EEA 的该物品将给制造商/进口商施加义务。 关于物品中候选清单物质的数据,可在欧盟化学管理局 (ECHA) 的网站上找到更多信息。 Novozymes 用于生产纺织品、皮革和纸浆的解决方案不是使用 SVHC 或候选清单中的物质制造的。
 
暴露场景可用于注册 REACH 的 Novozymes 产品,并且可以从 Novozymes 的客户中心下载。 Novozymes 还提供安全指导,可以在 Novozymes 客户中心的资料库中找到。

作为废水处理解决方案产品的制造商和进口商,Novozymes 已经注册了高吨数的酶,并将根据 2018 年的 REACH 注册时间线注册其他酶。

Novozymes 将确保酶及时进行 REACH 注册,以及非酶成分达到 REACH 符合性,并且在我们的供应链中,我们会注意满足所有的 REACH 要求。  有些产品可能包含有益的活体微生物,而这些活体微生物都不在 REACH 范围内。

暴露场景可用于注册 REACH 的 Novozymes 产品,并且可以从 Novozymes 的客户中心下载。 Novozymes 还提供安全指导,可以在 Novozymes 客户中心的资料库中找到。

根据使用方式,Novozymes 的一些用于生物制药行业的产品在 REACH 法规范围内,并已相应注册。 Novozymes 的产品符合 REACH 法规。

用于制造辅料的酶作为药物或活性药物成分 (API) 的加工助剂,须进行 REACH 注册,而辅料和 API 则不需要。 当 Novozymes 的成分被用作医疗器械的组件时,它们须进行 REACH 注册。 为了确保不间断地供应我们的产品,我们会确保及时进行 REACH 注册,并且在我们的供应链中,我们会注意满足所有的 REACH 要求。

您有问题吗?Novozymes 的 REACH 团队与 REACH 的各个方面合作,致力于回答客户可能存在的任何疑问。如果您对 REACH 有任何疑问或需要我们的支持,请联系您的 Novozymes 销售代表或发送电子邮件至 reach@novozymes.com 联系 REACH 团队。​

只要按照 Novozymes 的建议使用,Novozymes 用于农业解决方案的产品就不在 REACH 限制范围内。

Within REACH
Within REACH 是 Novozymes 确保 REACH 合规的方法。建立该项目的目的是确保我们采取一切必要步骤来达到 REACH 合规并支持我们客户达到合规。

Within REACH 在我们组织的每个领域都扮演着重要的角色。这是一个用于及时与当局、供应商和客户沟通的动态结构。由于 REACH 是一个动态的目标,Novozymes 已经成立了一个指导委员会来就所有的关键问题做出决定。

Within REACH

工人和消费者安全

凭借强大的安全政策和超过 40 年的酶生产经验,Novozymes 提供了能够安全处理和使用的产品。我们也协助并告知合作伙伴如何正确使用我们的产品。

REACH 法规要求对物质的确定用途实施充分的风险控制。REACH 要求的暴露场景适用于我们的产品(参考:“安全数据表”第 3 部分的 REACH 注册号)。Novozymes 解决方案的暴露场景可以通过 Novozymes 的销售代表或客户中心获得。  

原材料

Novozymes 对 REACH 候选和授权清单的暴露低于我们全球收入的 1%。我们不使用 REACH 授权清单中列出的任何物质。传统上用作酶常用稳定剂的硼酸在欧盟统一分类中被列为生殖毒性物质,而且目前被列入 REACH 候选清单。在过去的几年中,在硼酸列入候选清单之前,Novozymes 不仅通过开发替代的稳定剂而成功地从多种产品中淘汰了硼酸,而且随着 Novozymes 替代稳定剂的引入,使得洗涤剂配方设计师能够避免使用硼酸。

值得信赖的合规伙伴

如果产品在欧盟/欧洲经济区生产或者进口到欧盟/欧洲经济区,在解决方案中使用 Novozymes 产品的制造商可能必须遵守 REACH 法规。 作为值得信赖的合作伙伴,Novozymes 将支持客户达到 REACH 合规。
 
Novozymes 与我们的供应链合作,确保相关原材料符合 REACH 法规。
 
如果您要将 Novozymes 的产品进口到欧盟或欧洲经济区,请通知您的 Novozymes 代表。
 
Novozymes 的食品生产用酶符合欧盟 FIAP 标准。

 

FIAP

Novozymes 积极主动并严肃承诺致力于遵循 FIAP 标准,立志成为客户的可靠和首选合作伙伴。 

背景

食品改良剂汇总 (FIAP) 为整个欧盟的食品酶创建了统一的监管体系。
 
FIAP 适用于所有在欧洲销售或使用的食品酶,包括进口的酶以及在进口酶处理食品中使用的酶。
 
该法规自 2009 年 1 月 20 日起生效,并于 2015 年 3 月 11 日到达关键里程碑,这是食品酶制造商就目前在欧洲销售或使用的所有食品酶提交档案的第一个截止日期。当 FIAP 在 2021 年全面实施时,需要提交这些材料以确保酶行业及其客户的合规性。

食品生产商依赖于像 Novozymes 这样的酶制造商获得完全符合全球监管体系的可靠供应。这就是为什么 Novozymes 一直在努力遵守 FIAP 的原因,Novozymes 很荣幸能够在 2015 年 3 月 11 日的截止日期之前提交了 FIAP 档案,涵盖了我们现有的食品酶解决方案以及新推出的酶产品。 
 

后续措施

欧洲食品安全局 (EFSA) 正在评估这些档案的安全方面。欧盟委员会和成员国正在评估技术需求并确保食品酶不会误导消费者。
 
根据评估结果,欧盟委员会将制定一份食品酶授权清单。这将成为欧盟首个获准酶许可清单。这份清单预计在 2021 年前后发布。届时,FIAP 已经得到充分地实施,只有获准列入该许可清单的食品酶才被允许商业化和/或用于生产在欧盟内销售的食品。在此之前国家规定仍然适用。

我们的方法​

为确保向客户不间断供应食品酶产品,Novozymes 在 FIAP 要求生效后保持与其完全合规。

Novozymes 一直在密切跟踪 FIAP 的发展情况。我们通过欧洲酶产品制造商和配方设计者协会 (AMFEP) 与欧洲当局保持密切对话,以确保行业的合适数据要求,并确保快速高效的审批流程。 

早在 2012 年 5 月,Novozymes 就开始不断提交档案,并在 2015 年 3 月 11 日截止日期之前提交了 FIAP 档案,其中涵盖我们现有的食品酶解决方案以及新推出的酶产品。这都是我们努力成为客户可靠和首选合作伙伴的举措的一部分。

您有问题吗?

Novozymes 的 FIAP 团队在各个方面与 FIAP 密切合作。如果您对 FIAP 的实施有任何疑问或需要我们的支持,请通过 fiap-eu@novozymes.com 联系 FIAP 合规团队。

产品信息

Novozymes 支持对提供给我们产品用户的信息进行适当和可操作性的监管,特别是在安全处理方面。

产品标签是 Novozymes 的客户安全有效处理和储存我们产品的主要沟通工具。标签必须传达关于我们产品的健康和​​安全方面的明确信息,以确保工人对其进行正确处理。

Novozymes 还实施全球统一制度 (GHS),以确保我们开展运营的所有国家/地区都拥有同样高水平的安全信息 – 即使在法律没有强制规定的情况下。GHS 指导方针由联合国制定,旨在帮助全世界以同样的方式传达化学品安全的相关信息。

Novozymes 支持对我们产品的制造方式进行适当和可操作性的监管,以及保证最终消费者的知情权。值得注意的是,公开告知所有利益相关方在我们的生产过程中使用了基因修饰微生物 (GMM) 一直是 Novozymes 的一项基本原则。

为此,Novozymes 的政策是按照法律要求告知客户,有时甚至超越了法律要求。此类信息可能是标签、安全数据表 (SDS)、产品数据表和网络信息的一部分。

我们提供给客户的信息使他们能够遵守相关法规。在适当的时候,这也反映在我们客户与最终用户和消费者的交流中。

我们的信息政策通过我们的质量管理体系来实施和监控。我们在 2016 年没有发生违反标记监管要求的事件。

Novozymes 与包括立法机构和当局、食品生产商和零售商、公众和非政府组织在内的利益相关者,就所有上述主题保持着持续的对话。

As a responsible company and market leader of industrial enzymes, Novozymes makes sure that all our products can be sold and used legally to all relevant markets worldwide.

Novozymes takes its’ responsibility seriously and has therefore established a large and well-trained global function, monitoring relevant legislation and submitting state-of-the-art dossiers. The Regulatory Affairs function has members in Denmark, France, Canada, the U.S., Japan,  Korea, Malaysia, India, China, and Brazil and is interacting with local industry associations and regulatory bodies in order to create transparent legal systems for enzymes.

 

REACH

Novozymes complies fully with the EU regulations on Registration, Evaluation, Authorization, and Restriction of Chemicals.


The regulations on Registration, Evaluation, Authorization, and Restriction of Chemicals (REACH) are issued by the EU. REACH requires all EU-based manufacturers and importers of chemicals to register chemicals that are manufactured or imported in yearly tonnages exceeding a certain level: 1000, 100, 10 and 1 ton(s)/year. The incentive behind REACH is to improve the protection of human health and the environment from the potential risk of chemicals.

Our approach

Novozymes welcomes REACH. In essence, REACH reflects Novozymes’ business strategy and ambition to substitute highly dangerous chemicals with sustainable enzymatic or biological solutions, while ensuring safety of use.

According to the new EU legislation, REACH (Registration, Evaluation, Authorization, and Restriction of Chemicals), all EU-based manufacturers and importers of chemicals are required to register chemicals that are manufactured or imported in yearly tonnages exceeding a certain level.

Novozymes’ technical enzymes (used for detergent, leather, special tech, forestry, textile, fuel ethanol etc.) are regarded as chemicals and are therefore subject to the REACH registration. The incentive behind REACH is to improve the protection of human health and the environment from the risks that can be posed by chemicals.

A welcomed step towards sustainable industrial development

Novozymes welcomes REACH as a step towards sustainable industrial development. In essence, it reflects the company’s business strategy to substitute highly dangerous chemicals with sustainable enzymatic or biological solutions, while ensuring safety of use.

Novozymes implements all requirements of REACH as they come into force, in order to ensure uninterrupted supply to customers. Novozymes ensures REACH compliance of products that are manufactured in the EU or imported to the EU/European Economic Area (EEA) by Novozymes A/S in Denmark (if you import Novozymes’ products into the EU/EEA, please inform your Novozymes representative).

As a leading registrant, Novozymes has successfully registered high volume enzymes (2010 for > 1000 ton/year, 2013 for > 100 ton/year) and met the REACH deadlines. Novozymes will register other enzymes in lower tonnages meeting the deadline in 2018.

 

Novozymes products are subject to registration for (see below):

As a manufacturer and importer of enzymes, Novozymes has registered enzymes in high tonnages and will register the other enzymes meeting the REACH registration timeline in 2018.

Novozymes’ solutions for the production of bioethanol contain enzymes, and we ensure timely REACH registration of these enzymes. Throughout our supply chain, we take care to meet all REACH requirements.

Novozymes has developed exposure scenarios on enzymes specific to the bioenergy industry based on actual measurements using Novozymes products in a bioethanol plant. The exposure scenarios are available for REACH-registered Novozymes products and can be downloaded from Novozymes’ Customer Center. Novozymes also offers safety guidance which can be found in the Library section on Novozymes’ Customer Center.

As a manufacturer and importer of enzymes, Novozymes has registered the most used enzymes for household care products. Novozymes will register the other enzymes meeting the REACH registration timeline.

Novozymes ensures timely REACH registration of our enzymes for the household care industry and throughout our supply chain, we take care to meet all REACH requirements. 

In accordance with the International Association for Soaps, Detergents and Maintenance Products’ (A.I.S.E.) descriptions of use and “habits and practices”, Novozymes has developed exposure scenarios. The exposure scenarios are available for REACH-registered Novozymes products and can be downloaded from Novozymes’ Customer Center. Novozymes also offers safety guidance which can be found in the Library section on Novozymes’ Customer Center.  

Spray or hard surface cleaning products or medical device cleaning When enzymes are used for spray products or hard surface cleaning or medical device cleaning, exposure of enzymes may exceed the safety level. A.I.S.E. publishes documents on “Exposure measurements of enzymes for risk assessment of spray products” describing how exposure should be assessed for spray products. Novozymes offers instruction about safety for medical device cleaning. If you intend to develop such products, please inform your Novozymes representative for further assistance. 

Food and beverage products are subject to FIAP, and sometimes also REACH registration is required. Novozymes has registered enzymes in high tonnages and will register the other enzymes according to the REACH registration timeline in 2018.

Some of Novozymes’ solutions are used in both chemical products and in the manufacturing of food and beverage products. For example, a protein hydrolysate can be used in cosmetic products where the ingredient is subject to REACH and in food manufacturing industry. In this case, the enzyme may meet double compliance: REACH and FIAP.

As part of the REACH compliance, Novozymes develops exposure scenarios for our enzymes used in the relevant industries. These are readily available at Novozymes’ Customer Center. Novozymes also offers safety guidance which can be found in the Library at Novozymes’ Customer Center.

As a manufacturer and importer of enzymes, Novozymes has registered enzymes in high tonnages and will register the other enzymes meeting the REACH registration timeline in 2018.
 
*Textile, leather and pulp & paper are defined as "articles" under REACH, which may place additional obligations on manufacturers.
 
Novozymes develops solutions to enhance a range of industrial processes, including textile, leather and pulp & paper production processes. And we ensure timely REACH registration of the enzymes we develop for this purpose. Throughout our supply chain, we take care to meet all REACH requirements.
Textile, leather and pulp & paper are defined as "articles" under REACH. Articles that are manufactured in, or imported to, the EU/EEA trigger obligations for manufacturers/importers if the article contains equal to or more than 0.1% of Substances of Very High Concern (SVHCs.) More information can be found at The European Chemical Agency’s (ECHA) website about Data on Candidate List substances in articles. Novozymes’ solutions for the production of textiles, leather, and pulp and paper are not manufactured with SVHCs or the substances listed on the Candidate List.
 
The exposure scenarios are available for REACH registered Novozymes products and can be downloaded from the Novozymes Customer Center. Novozymes also offers safety guidance which can be found in the Library at Novozymes’ Customer Center.

As a manufacturer and importer of products for wastewater solutions, Novozymes has registered enzymes in high tonnages and will register other enzymes according to the REACH registration timeline in 2018.

Novozymes will ensure timely REACH registration of enzymes as well as REACH compliance of non-enzyme components and throughout our supply chain, we take care to meet all REACH requirements.  Some products may contain beneficial living microorganisms, and these are not within the scope of REACH.

The exposure scenarios are available for REACH registered Novozymes products and can be downloaded from Novozymes’ Customer Center. Novozymes also offers safety guidance which can be found in the Library at Novozymes’ Customer Center.

Depending on how they are used, some of Novozymes’ products for the biopharma industry are within the scope of REACH and are registered as such. Novozymes' products comply with REACH.

Enzymes used as processing aid for manufacturing of excipients as to pharmaceuticals or Active Pharmaceutical Ingredient (API) are subject to REACH registration whereas the excipients and the API are not. When Novozymes’ ingredients are used as components in medical devices, they become subject to REACH registration. To secure the uninterrupted supply of our products, we ensure timely REACH registration and throughout our supply chain, we take care to meet all REACH requirements.

Do you have a question? Novozymes’ REACH team works with all aspects of REACH and is dedicated to answering any queries that our customers may have. If you have any questions or need our support with regards to REACH, please contact your Novozymes representative or email the REACH team at reach@novozymes.com.

Novozymes’ products for agricultural solutions are not within the scope of REACH as long as they are used as advised by Novozymes.

Within REACH
Within REACH is Novozymes’ approach to ensuring REACH compliance. The project has been established to ensure that we take all necessary steps to meet REACH compliance and support our customers’ compliance.

Within REACH plays a part in every area of our organization. It is a dynamic structure that communicates with the authorities, suppliers and customers in timely manner. Since REACH is a moving target, Novozymes has established a steering committee to make decisions on all critical issues.

Within REACH

Safety for workers and consumers

With a strong safety policy and more than 40 years of experience in producing enzymes, Novozymes offers products that are safe for handling and for use. We also assist and inform our partners about the correct use of our products.

The REACH regulation requires that adequate control of risks is demonstrated for the identified uses of substances. The exposure scenarios that are required by REACH are available for our products (reference:  REACH registration number in Section 3 in Safety Data Sheets.) Exposure scenarios for Novozymes solutions can be obtained through Novozymes representatives or Novozymes’ Customer Center.   

Raw materials

Novozymes’ exposure to the REACH Candidate and Authorization lists is <1% of our global revenue. We do not use any substance listed in the REACH Authorization List. Boric acid, which has traditionally been used as a common stabilizer for enzymes, is classified as reprotoxic substance as harmonized classification in EU and currently listed on the REACH Candidate List. Over the past years and prior to Candidate List listing of boric acid, Novozymes has not only succeeded in phasing out boric acid from a number of products by developing alternative stabilizers, but also enabled detergent formulators to void the use of boric acid with the introduction of Novozymes alternative stabilizers.

A trustworthy partner for compliance

Manufacturers that use Novozymes’ products in their solutions may have to comply with REACH if their products are manufactured in the EU/EEA or imported to the EU/EEA.  As a trusted partner, Novozymes will support our customers’ REACH compliance.
 
Novozymes works with our supply chain to make sure that relevant raw materials meet REACH compliance.
 
If you are importing Novozymes’ products into the EU or the EEA, please inform your Novozymes representative.
 
Novozymes’ enzymes made for the manufacturing of food comply with FIAP in the EU.

 

FIAP

Novozymes works on complying with FIAP diligently, proactively and with serious commitment in our efforts to be a trustworthy and preferred partner for our customers.  

Background

The Food Improvement Agents Package (FIAP) creates a harmonized regulatory system for food enzymes across the European Union.
 
FIAP applies to all food enzymes sold or used in Europe, including imported enzymes and enzymes used in imported enzyme-treated food.
 
The regulations have been in force since January 20, 2009 and reached a key milestone on March 11, 2015, the first deadline for food enzyme manufacturers to submit dossiers on all food enzymes currently sold or used in Europe. These submissions are required to ensure compliance of the enzyme industry and its customers when FIAP gets fully implemented in 2021.

Food producers depend on enzyme manufacturers like Novozymes for a reliable supply that is fully compliant with regulatory systems globally. That is why Novozymes has been working on complying with FIAP, and Novozymes is proud to have submitted dossiers for FIAP - covering our existing food enzyme solutions as well as newly launched enzyme products - ahead of the March 11, 2015 deadline.  
 

Next steps

The safety aspects of the dossiers is being assessed by the European Food Safety Authority (EFSA). The technological need and ensuring that a food enzyme does not mislead consumers is being assessed by the European Commission and Member States.
 
Based on the results of the assessments, the European Commission will draw up a list of food enzymes to be authorized. This list will become the first EU positive list of approved enzymes. The list is expected around 2021. At this point, FIAP is fully implemented, and only authorized food enzymes that are on the positive list will be allowed to be commercialized and/or used in the production of food sold in the EU. Until then, national provisions apply.

Our approach

To ensure uninterrupted supply of food enzymes to our customers, Novozymes maintains full compliance with FIAP requirements as they come into force.

Novozymes has closely followed the development of FIAP. We remain in close dialogue with the European authorities through the European Association of Manufacturers and Formulators of Enzyme Products (AMFEP) to ensure suitable data requirements for the industry, and to ensure a fast and efficient approval process. 

Starting as early as May 2012, Novozymes has continually submitted dossiers,and well ahead of the March 11, 2015 deadline we submitted FIAP dossiers covering our existing food enzyme solutions as well as newly launched enzyme products. It’s all part of our effort to be a trustworthy and preferred partner for our customers.

Do you have a question?

Novozymes’ FIAP team works intensively with all aspects of FIAP. If you have any questions or need our support in regard to the implementation of FIAP, please contact the FIAP compliance team at fiap-eu@novozymes.com.

Product information

Novozymes supports proportionate and operational regulations on information to the users of our products, notably on safe handling.

Product labels are the primary communication tool to Novozymes' customers for the safe and effective handling and storage of our products. It is essential that labels convey a clear message on health and safety aspects of our products to ensure that they are handled properly by workers.

Novozymes also implements the Globally Harmonized System (GHS) to ensure the same high level of safety information in all countries where we operate – even where it is not mandated by law. The GHS guidelines were developed by the United Nations to help the entire world communicate in the same way about chemical safety.

Novozymes supports proportionate and operational regulations, as well as the final consumers’ right to know, about the way our products are manufactured. Notably, it has always been a basic principle at Novozymes to openly inform all interested parties about the use of genetically modified microorganisms (GMMs) in our production processes.

To this effect, Novozymes’ policy is to inform our customers, in compliance and sometimes beyond legal requirements. Such information may be part of labels, safety data sheets (SDS), product data sheets, and web-based information.

The information we provide to our customers allows them to comply with relevant legislations. It is also reflected when appropriate, in our customers’ communication with final users and consumers.

Our information policy is implemented and monitored through our Quality Management System. We had no incidents of non-compliance with regulatory labelling requirements in 2016.

Novozymes maintains an ongoing dialogue with stakeholders including legislators and authorities, food producers and retailers, the public and the non-governmental organizations on all above topics.