什么是酶?

酶是​用作催化剂的蛋白质。当一种物质需要转化为另一种物质时,大自然使用酶来加速这个过程。例如,在我们的胃里,酶将食物分解成微小颗粒,然后转化为能量。​ 

​我们的客户使用酶作为催化剂来制造各种日常用品 — 如糖、啤酒、面包和乙醇。酶也直接用于洗衣粉等产品,帮助去除污渍,实现低温洗涤。

什么是微生物? 

微生物是活的单细胞生物,例如真菌和细菌。微生物是最有效的酶生产者。这些自然形成的酶工厂是我们业务的核心,可用于各种农业和工业过程。
 
微生物为农民提供了一种新的生物工具包来增加产量和保护作物。它们还可以改善家畜的健康、生长和饲料利用率。我们在废水处理和沼气方面的客户使用它们来提高效率和作为加工助剂。 

 

什么是酶?

5000 年的日常衍变

人类对酶的钟爱始于青铜时代,那时我们的祖先发现牛胃中的一种酶可以将牛奶转化成奶酪。今天,酶被广泛用于乳制品和酿酒等各种场合。下一次享用芝士披萨和冰镇啤酒时,请记得向青铜时代的创新者敬一杯。

改善每天的日常生活

您家中的酶并不仅仅出现在厨房。 
看看酶如何改善美国一个家庭的日常生活 
生活中的酶​

时尚达人?​吃货?酶涵盖一切

有了酶,您使用的许多产品变得更好。​对环境也​十分有益。酶可以取代化学制品,最大限度减少能源消耗。​ 

更加温和的石洗 

​顾名思义,生产石洗牛仔裤的传统方式就是用石头对它们进行洗涤。该处理过程耗水量大,​对牛仔裤和环境都会带来不利影响。​也将使纤维织物变得柔软,从而呈现丝绵般外观。

如果用酶取代石头,则​无需多次冲洗,可达到节水目的。结果呢?​纤维织物不受损,质量持久,呈现相同的石洗外观。

面包店推动因素

​当面包中的淀粉失去水分时,面包会变硬。​通过在面粉中添加酶以改变淀粉结构,保持面包柔软。 

对于忙碌的​面包师,酶也可以降低面团的粘度。 

其他专业烘焙酶帮助保留​麸质中自然产生的气体。这就是面包师能够制作出​轻盈蓬松的面包的诀窍。

皮革柔软剂

未经处理的天然皮革硬如金属。在软化过程中,酶可以溶解并清洗使皮革变硬的蛋白质组分。由于排泄物中的细菌会产生酶,犬粪曾一度用于此过程。 

通过使用酶去除动物皮毛发和脂肪,硫化物使用减少了 40%,用水量也有所减少。用酶代替化学品可减少皮革生产过程中的冲洗和清洁工作。

纺织物抛光机 

生物抛光酶处理可去除纱线表面突出的小绒毛和起毛,保持棉织物表面柔顺。多次洗涤之后,经生物抛光的衣服依旧如新。 

在织造过程中阻止纱线断裂所用的淀粉也可以阻止其吸收漂白剂和染料。使用分解这种釉的酶不损害纺织品,使其准备漂白或染色。

更多果汁  

苹果在切开后会变褐变软,因为酶会分解其纤维。这种苹果吃起来不太美味,但在榨汁时却是一个优势。 这些酶能够使水果更容易榨取,得到更高的产量和完全澄清的果汁。 

不仅仅是苹果 - 这些酶也可以对葡萄起作用,使您得到所有的果汁而不影响美酒的品质。

转变力量

科学魔力

酶是由所有生物体制成的蛋白质,在自然界无处不在。它们是生物活性蛋白,催化细胞中的生物化学反应。
具体行动

完美之选

酶是一种大分子,但该分子只有一小部分参与生化反应的催化作用。这一部分被称为活性位点。酶和底物像锁和钥匙一样适配在一起,只有具有正确形状的底物才能被酶转化。这就是使酶在其作用中具有特异性的原因。
仔细看一下酶的内部 
动画

深度清洁 

观看我们的脂肪酶在纺织品上处理油渍。 

酶​

​追寻完美的酶

大约在公元前 800 年,荷马写下关于奶酪生产的文章,这是人类第一次书面记载酶。从那时起,我们​积累了深厚的知识,现在向自然施以援手,以产生完美的酶。
微生物是最有效的酶生产者。这些天然酶工厂是我们业务的核心。 
对于酶的工业生产,细菌和真菌是最适合的微生物。 
我们首先会在我们的微生物集合中寻找在温和温度下快速生长并产生大量完美酶的微生物。如果合适的微生物不在我们的集合内,我们会在自然界寻找它。 
有时,无法找到适合某个特定工作的微生物。凭借先进的生物科技,我们可以优化最接近的自然产生的匹配微生物,以生产出理想的酶。

我们业务的核心

细菌和真菌是天然酶工厂,是我们业务的核心。我们的大部分酶均是由米曲霉生产的,数千年来这种霉菌一直用于制造酱油。它还具有生产酶的巨大能力。这就是我们钟爱它的原因。

为什么是细菌和真菌?

所有生物中都存在酶。我们可以从长颈鹿或圣诞树中收集酶,但我们选择收集制造酶的细菌和真菌。这是因为细菌和真菌很容易生长、处理和测试。长颈鹿却并非如此。

理想的微生物

一些细菌或真菌能够产生合适的酶。其他细菌或真菌则快速生长,并产生大量酶。对我们而言,理想的微生物必须兼备这两种特质。 自 1960 年代起,我们便开始从自然界收集微生物,现在我们拥有世界上最大的专有菌株集之一。所以,我们首先会从自己的集合中寻找理想的微生物。

四处寻找

为了寻找样品,我们的足迹遍布世界各地,以期满足客户的需求。​如果酶需要在非常炎热的条件下​发挥作用,我们会联系身处温泉区的研究人员。为了寻找​适合冷水洗涤的酶,我们一路向北去到北极地区。阅读完整的故事

​北极的酶

半岛电视台的 Russell Beard 和我们的科学家一起踏上寻酶之旅,他们将寻找一种能够减轻工业对环境影响并降低我们对化石燃料依赖性的酶。 

找对物质

从搜寻至最终产品

找到合适的酶​

一份土壤样本可能包含数千种不同的微生物,而每种微生物可产生数百或数千种不同的酶。​我们拥有世界上最大的筛选技术工具箱​,让搜寻合适的酶变得更加轻而易举。

找到正确的基因

接下来,我们需要找到让微生物产生这种酶的基因。一旦这个基因被分离出来,我们的研究人员就可以用多种方法来改善这种酶。

转移正确的基因

通过将基因转移到我们的一种生产微生物中,我们会得到一种可产生大量正确酶并迅速增长的微生物。

找到合适的平衡​

在我们的三层发酵罐中,微生物繁殖数百万 - 但只有当达到营养、温度、pH 和气流的适当平衡时才会出现这种情况。幸运的是,我们有 70 多年的经验帮助我们。

做正确的事情

在发酵之后,我们将酶分离出来,留下未使用的营养素、水和微生物的混合物。我们对其进行处理以清除所有活的和完整的微生物。这使得它可以用作高档农业肥料。

为我们的客户提供合适的产品

产品只有正确使用,才是适合的。这就是我们的技术服务团队的服务宗旨。他们的专家协助服务帮助我们的客户从我们的酶中获得最佳结果。

了解更多
共同协作​

HelloScience

​面向企业、创新者和 NGO 的开放生物创新网络。

What are enzymes?

Enzymes are proteins that act as catalysts. When one substance needs to be transformed into another, nature uses enzymes to speed up the process. In our stomachs for example, enzymes break down food into tiny particles to be converted into energy. 

Our customers use enzymes as catalysts to manufacture a variety of everyday products - like sugar, beer, bread and ethanol. They are also used directly in products such as laundry detergent, where they help remove stains and enable low-temperature washing.

What are microbes? 

Microbes are living, single-celled organisms such as fungi and bacteria. Microbes are the most effective producers of enzymes. These naturally-occuring enzyme factories are at the heart of our business, and can be used in a variety of agricultural and industrial processes. 
 
Microbes give farmers a new biological toolkit to increase yields and protect crops. They can also improve livestock health, growth and feed utilization. Our customers in wastewater treatment and biogas use them to improve efficiency and as processing aids. 

 

What are enzymes?

5,000 years of everyday transformations

Our love affair with enzymes began when our Bronze Age ancestors discovered that an enzyme found in cows' stomachs could turn milk into cheese. Today, we use enzymes in everything from dairy to brewing. So next time you're enjoying a cheese pizza and a cold beer, remember to raise your glass to those Bronze Age innovators.

Improving every life, every day

Enzymes in your home aren't confined to your kitchen.  
Take a look at how enzymes improve everyday life for one family in the U.S. 

Enzymes in your life

Fashionista? Foodie? Enzymes have you covered

Enzymes make many of the products you use even better. They're good for the environment too. Enzymes can replace chemicals and minimize energy consumption. 

Milder stonewashing 

As the name suggests, the traditional way of producing stonewashed jeans is to wash them with stones. This water-intensive treatment is harsh on the jeans and the environment. It also weakens their fabric, giving them a flossy appearance.

Using enzymes instead of stones eliminates the need for multiple rinses and saves water. The results? Undamaged fabric, long-lasting quality, and that same stonewashed look.

Bakery booster 

When a loaf of bread's starch loses moisture, the bread becomes hard. Keep that softness by adding enzymes to the flour to alter the structure of the starch.  

For busy bakers, enzymes can also make dough less sticky. 

Other specialized baking enzymes help retain naturally-occurring gases in gluten. That's how bakers are able to make light, fluffy bread.

Leather softener

Natural, untreated leather is as stiff as metal. In the bating process, enzymes dissolve and wash protein components that stiffen leather. Because the bacteria in excrement produce enzymes, dog excrement was once used for this process.  

Using enzymes to remove hair and fat from animal hides reduces sulphide use by 40% and reduces water use. Replacing chemicals with enzymes cuts down on rinsing and cleaning in the leather production process.

Textile polisher 

Biopolishing enzyme treatments remove the small hairs and fuzz that protrude from the surface of yarn, leaving a smooth finish on cotton fabric. Biopolished clothes still look new after multiple washes.  

The starch used to stop yarn from breaking during weaving can also stop it from absorbing bleach and dye. Using enzymes to break down this glaze doesn't harm the textile and makes it ready for bleaching or dyeing.

More juice  

Apples turn brown and soften after you cut them as enzymes break down their fibers. It's not too appetizing if you're eating apples, but it's an advantage when juicing them. These enzymes make the fruit easier to press, giving higher yields and creating completely clear juice.  

And it's not just apples – the enzymes also work on grapes to get all their juice out without compromising the quality of that fine wine.

Transformational power

Scientific magic

Enzymes are proteins made by all living organisms and are found everywhere in nature. They are biologically active proteins that catalyze biochemical reactions in cells.

Specific action

The perfect fit

An enzyme is a large molecule but only a small part of the molecule is involved in the catalysis of biochemical reactions. This is called the active site. The enzyme and substrate fit together like a key in a lock, and only substrates with the right shape are transformed by the enzyme. This is what makes enzymes specific in their action.

A closer look at what's inside an enzyme 

Animation

Deep-down cleaning 

Watch our lipases tackle greasy stains on textiles. 

Enzymes

The quest for the perfect enzyme

Homer made the first written reference to enzymes when he wrote about cheese production around 800 B.C. We've built up a lot of knowledge since then, and now give nature a helping hand to create the perfect enzyme.

Microbes are the most effective enzyme producers. These naturally-occurring enzyme factories are at the heart of our business. 
Bacteria and fungi are the best microbes for the industrial production of enzymes. 
Our microbe collection is the first place we look for a microbe that grows quickly at mild temperatures and produces lots of the perfect enzyme. If the right microbe is not in our collection, we look for it in nature. 
Sometimes the right microbe for a specific job is impossible to find. With state-of-the art biotechnology, we can optimize the closest naturally-occurring match to produce the perfect enzyme.

The heart of our business

Bacteria and fungi are the naturally-occurring enzyme factories at the heart of our business. Most of our enzymes are produced by Aspergillus oryzae, the same fungus that has been used for thousands of years to make soy sauce. It also has a huge capacity for producing enzymes. That’s why we love it.

Why bacteria and fungi?

Enzymes are in all living things. We could collect enzymes from giraffes or Christmas trees, but we choose to collect bacteria and fungi that make enzymes. That's because bacteria and fungi are easy to grow, handle and test. You can't say the same for a giraffe.

The perfect microbe

Some bacteria or fungi are able to produce the right enzyme. Others grow fast and produce lots of enzymes. For us, the perfect microbe must do both.  We have been collecting microbes from nature since the 1960s, and now have one of the world's largest proprietary strain collections. So the first place we look for the perfect microbe is in our own collection.

Hunting high and low

Our search for samples takes us across the globe to meet our customers' needs. If the enzyme needs to function under very hot conditions, our researchers in hot spring areas are the the ones we call. The search for enzymes for cold-water washing brings us North to arctic regions. Read full story

Arctic enzymes

Russell Beard from Al Jazeera joins our scientists on the hunt for enzymes that could reduce the environmental impact of industry and decrease our dependence on fossil fuels. 

Getting it right
From search to final product
Finding the right enzyme
One soil sample can contain thousands of different microorganisms, and each microorganism can produce hundreds or thousands of different enzymes. Having the world's biggest toolbox of screening technologies makes our search for the right enzyme a little easier.
Finding the right gene
Next, we need to locate the gene that tells the microorganism to produce this enzyme. Once this gene has been isolated, our researchers can improve the enzyme in many ways.
Transferring the right gene
By transferring the gene to one of our production microorganisms, we get a microorganism that produces large quantities of the right enzyme and grows very quickly.
Finding the right balance
In our three-story fermentation tanks, the microorganism multiplies by millions - but only if we achieve the right balance of nutrients, temperature, pH and airflow. Fortunately, we have more than 70 years of experience to help us.
Doing the right thing
After fermentation we separate out the enzymes, leaving a mix of unused nutrients, water and microorganisms. We treat this to remove all living and intact microorganisms. This makes it ready for use as top-grade farm fertilizer.
Making it right for our customers
A product is only right when it's used in the right way. That's where our Technical Service team comes in. Their expert assistance helps our customers get the very best from our enzymes.
Read more

Let's collaborate

HelloScience

An Open Bio Innovation Network for businesses, innovators, and NGOs.